Capital One official named AmCham president for 2024

Capital One official named AmCham president for 2024

THE American Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines (AmCham) said Capital One Philippines Support Services Corp. President Sara Murphy will serve as the chamber’s president in 2024.

“Following a thorough election process, Sara Murphy unanimously secured the support of the AmCham Board of Directors and was appointed to lead the Chamber for the upcoming year,” AmCham said in a statement.

“With substantial experience and a forward-thinking approach, she is poised to lead AmCham Philippines into a new growth, inclusivity, and innovation phase,” it added.

Capital One Philippines, a unit of Capital One Financial Corp., provides call center and business process outsourcing for various clients.

According to AmCham, Ms. Murphy will be the chamber’s first female president.

“This historic election reflects the chamber’s commitment to diversity and equality, acknowledging the invaluable contributions of women in leadership roles,” AmCham said.

“The chamber believes (Ms.) Murphy’s unique perspective and leadership style will inspire positive change and open new opportunities for all members,” it added.

Members of the business group also elected US Ambassador to the Philippines MaryKay Carlson as AmCham’s honorary chairman.

IBM Philippines’ Aileen Judan Jiao and RELX Reed Elsevier Shared Services Phils., Inc.’s Mark Lwin were named 1st and 2nd vice presidents, respectively.

AmCham’s corporate secretary for next year will be Aileen Lerma, while Ebb Hinchliffe will continue as executive director.

Philip Soliven was appointed as the group’s treasurer, while the members appointed 11 directors from various industries.

“AmCham extends its sincere appreciation to its outgoing President Frank Thiel of Quezon Power (Philippines) Ltd. Co. and the directors for their service and as it welcomes the newly elected team,” the group said.

“The chamber looks forward to a year of collaboration, progress, and engagement under the new board’s capable leadership,” it added. — Justine Irish D. Tabile