Swimmer Fernandez is first five-gold winner in PHL National Games

Swimmer Fernandez is first five-gold winner in PHL National Games

QUENDY FERNANDEZ of Puerto Princesa delivered a tsunami of a performance as she ruled the women’s 200-meter backstroke on Wednesday to emerge the first quintuple gold medal winner in the Philippine National Games at the PhilSports swimming pool in Pasig.

Riding high from a tidal wave-like four-gold haul in the first two days, the 18-year-old University of the Philippines star splashed her way to a fifth mint after she clocked two minutes and 29.52 seconds.

It was another spectacular swim for the reigning UAAP Rookie MVP after her earlier magnificence in the 50-meter and 100-meter back, 50-meter butterfly and 200-meter medley relay with Maglia Jay Dignadice, Pearl June Daganio and Cindy Fernandez.

She then dedicated her feats to the Palawan Swimming Club coach Toyskie Dalisay.

Lyka Catubig of Davao City claimed her second gold as she reigned supreme in the 5000-meter walk where she timed in 19:26.84 in centerpiece athletics in the nearby track oval.

It came two days after she stunned her more illustrious foes with a walk to remember in the 3000 meters.

Other track and field winners were the national team’s Junel Sergio Gobotia, (men’s steeplechase) and Evalyn Palabrica (women’s javelin), Naga’s Melquisedec Manto (men’s 5000 meters), and Bohol’s Diana Rysiamie Hurano (women’s long jump).

In chess at the GSIS Gymnasium, Dasmariñas’ Kylen Joy Mordido drew with Francois Marie Magpily in the seventh and final round to claim the women’s individual standard gold with 6.5 points.

The Woman Grandmaster candidate then took her second gold in the team standard event with Jerlyn Mae San Diego.

Over at the Manuel Roxas High School Gym, Zamboanga City’s Jerome Etang Negapatan pocketed a pair of mints in the men’s Wai Kru and Mai Muay.

Krystal Yvonne Malecdan of Baguio snared the women’s Wai Kru gold.

In arnis at the Ayala Malls in Paranaque, national team mainstays Rod Xhedrick Mendoza and Leslie Avila conquered the men and women non-traditional double weapon.

The other arnis victors were Valenzuela’s Ian Patrick Gurrobat and Lapu Lapu’s Jannalyn Ycoy in men and women traditional single weapon. — Joey Villar